Being a Trekkie – My problem with Deep Space 9

Back in the early 90s, I officially became a trekkie. I was obsessed with Star Trek: The Next Generation. I had missed the original episodes, but my friend Justin and I would meet almost every night when a local TV station would run reruns of the show at 11 pm. It was daily ritual during my junior year in college, and it was something I rarely missed.

Given how much I liked The Next Generation, watching Deep Space 9 should have been a no-brainer. However, I could never get in to the show. Over the years, I’ve tried watching episodes of the series and they’ve never held my interest.

Deep Space 9 is now available via Netflix Streaming, and I thought I would try to check them out again. I’m about 10 episodes in, and I’m not sure I will be watching much more of them. My biggest issue is the acting of Avery Brooks as Benjamin Sisto. I know that Avery Brooks is a well-respected actor, but I just don’t believe him especially when he is angry.

There is one scene early on in the first season that he goes to smack the wall and I actually laughed out load about how ridiculous it was.

There are pieces of the Star Trek timeline that I’ve missed by not watching Deep Space 9 (the continuation of the Worf story, for example), but I’m just not sure I can sit through 7 seasons of Avery Brooks for that reward.

Leave a Reply

