Tennessee: One Year Later

In addition to today being my 40th birthday, it’s also the 1-year anniversary of arriving in Tennessee. Sue Anne & Brendan

I had a few main reasons for moving cross country and leaving California:

  • Spend more time with family
  • Develop some semblance of work/life balance
  • Get healthy
  • Fix my finances

When it comes to spending more time with the family, that has definitely been a win. On average, I see my sister, brother-in-law and nephews at least once a week. This will be even more frequent when I move up to Clarksville, which will be happening sometime this summer.

I feel like I’ve been pretty successful in having more of a work/life balance. There are definitely times that are better than others on this one. But, most weeks, I’m working my 40 hours and then turning off my computer for the weekend. With my two previous jobs, I felt like even when I wasn’t working I was obsessing about work and often feeling like I should be working, and I don’t have that feeling these days. One of the most important things I’ve done is remove work email “pushing” to my phone. In order to look at email from my phone, I actually have to log in and check email. This has been a *huge* change and super important.

I have not been very successful in “getting healthy”. The good news is that I haven’t gained weight since I moved to Tennessee. I have lost a little bit of weight, but I’m still struggling with making the changes I need to make. My broken ankle and the 2 months of downtime didn’t help.

Have I fixed my fiances? That is an interesting question, which I’m not sure of the answer. My big goal is to be completely “debt free”, and I had originally set a “debt free date” of today. Last fall, I realized that I would have to get very intense if I wanted to hit that goal and that’s not how I wanted to live my life. Over the past year, I’ve paid off a handful of debts. I’ve gone from four student loans to two student loans. I also haven’t added any new debt — especially any new medical debt. I might be debt free by the end of 2013, but sometime in 2014 is more likely.

I have absolutely no regrets about making this move, and I’m looking forward to what my 2nd year in Tennessee brings.

Leave a Reply

