I Do Stupid

Smash by Sue Gatherum-Goss (suziegg)) on 500px.com
Smash by Sue Gatherum-Goss

I left home when I was 18. Other than a few months with my grandfather and another few months with the Checketts family, I have been on my own ever since.

Being independent is a great thing, but it’s hard at times not having someone to talk through ideas and decisions.

Occasionally, this leads me to do some really stupid things. Most of these involve money. And sometimes there are other mishaps.

When moving in to my new townhouse, there was a noticeable problem with the “feet” on my couch. Some had these hard plastic rounded tips on the bottom and some did not. I was able to find the box I had packed the furniture sliders in and we were able to put those under each of the couch legs.

The annoying part of having furniture sliders on a couch is that every time you sit down, the couch moves.

I was determined to fix this problem.

I went to Walmart and bought some felt pads for the feet to help protect the hardwood (read: laminate) flooring and then I began my quest on how to get rid of the plastic pieces.

Given how the ones that were missing had simply broke in half, I had assumed that this was going to be an easy process – a couple whacks with the hammer and the plastic bits would just fall off.

Unfortunately, that was not the case. But, like many stupid things I do, once the idea was in my head that these needed to be off, I was determined to get them off – no matter what.

A thought came in to my head that I could use a flathead screwdriver almost as a chisel to break apart the plastic pieces.

This didn’t work out so great on the first one and I basically had to chisel tiny little pieces of plastic to get it all off.

I learned something from the first one and the 2nd and 3rd were much easier.

There were two more to do, and I was feeling pretty good about getting them done quickly.

And, that’s when stupid happened. I went to hit the top of the screwdriver with the hammer and the screwdriver didn’t hold to the plastic but instead went right in to my thumb.

Thankfully, I don’t have a problem with the sight of blood (even my own), and due to all my previous surgeries and other medical mishaps, I am fully stocked when it comes to sterile gauze, clean bandages, antiseptic ointment and bandaids (tiny to extra large).

My one concern was over whether or not I was going to need to go to the ER. Depending on how you looked at it, the cut either looks really deep or not.

I decided not to go the ER and figured I would just judge it the next morning to see how it looked.

The wound on my thumb is still healing and probably will be for a couple of weeks. It will be another scar to add to my collection of “I Do Stupid”.

Leave a Reply

