Trying to set realistic goals in health and fitness

I met with a physical therapist at a gym today, and I’ve met with a possible trainer at that same gym. I like this gym and hope that it will “work out” as a place for me to meet my goals for personal health and fitness.

The big question is, what are those goals?

I wish I could set weight loss goals and be confident that I would be able to match them. That has never been a winning strategy for me.

Back in the mid-2000s, I was working out at Equinox. To say that I was feeling the healthist I’d ever felt would be an understatement. I was working out with a trainer, Brian, 2-3 times per week. He was pushing me to my limits given my complications with Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome. On days when I would work with him, I would do at least another hour of cardio work on the bike and elliptical machine. I would do another 3-4 workouts during the week where I would do 1-2 hours of cardio and 30 minutes to 1 hour of weight work. These were awesome workouts.

The one downside – I wasn’t losing any weight. I wasn’t gaining weight, but at most over several months I only lost 5-10 pounds.

I didn’t know what I was doing wrong.

Unfortunately, I was walking around Los Gatos one afternoon and stepped off a step wrong and severely dislocated my knee. That led to me being in a wheelchair for a couple of months and accelerating a planned surgery I was going to be having on my knee.

Now that I’m beginning this process again, I believe in setting realistic goals … I just don’t know what those goals are.

Leave a Reply

