Learning to not beat myself up over mistakes


Touch gently by Iris Motley Photography on 500px.com

Touch gently by
Iris Motley Photography

Today’s blog post was supposed to be about the Start Experience (#startexp) and punching my fears in the face.

And, then I made a mistake at work.

Making mistakes that impact my clients are one of my biggest fears. For some of the work I do, mistakes can be easily corrected. Unfortunately, once you hit send on an email a mistake is near impossible to take back and correct.

Throughout the afternoon and evening, I’ve been trying not to beat myself up too badly about the error and also trying to find ways to help prevent similar mistakes in the future. The good news is that I rarely make the same mistake twice and this mistake and the steps that led up to it is something I will be on guard for even more in the future.

Dealing with my mistakes and the emotions around the mistake have taken a lot out of me.

Leave a Reply

