What’s important to you?

When I was younger, I don’t feel like I had much of a connection to my family history. I grew up around a lot of people that were of “pioneer stock”, and I always felt a bit on the outside.

Over the years, I’ve become a bit of a collector of things from the family that are important.

One of my most treasured possessions is a bracelet that was given to my great aunt Millie by her husband on their wedding day. I knew my aunt Millie mostly as someone we would see around the holidays, but I didn’t know her past all that well. By the time I was ready to ask the questions, she was unavailable to answer them. I wish I had the opportunity to talk to her about her marriage, what life was like for her growing up or what it was like to have a “special needs” child.

I’m also really grateful to have other things — like photos my grandfather took when my mother, aunt and uncle were young. I also have a great collection of items that my grandmother had during World War II.

I also have a fabulous collection of older photos of relatives. The only unfortunate part of the albums I have with the really old photos is that no one over the years took the time to write down who the people were.

One of the reasons why I’m writing this blog is because these are the stories that I hope someone wants to know about me in the future. What is it like to be single at 40? What are my thoughts now about what my life was like when I was younger?

 

Leave a Reply

