Book Review: The Bronze Horseman Trilogy #emptyshelf

Bronze Horseman TrilogyAfter finishing reading the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon, I was looking for something new. A couple of different sites recommended The Bronze Horseman series by Paullina Simmons, so I decided to give it a try.

The Bronze Horseman series is the story of Tatiana and Alexander and starts out in Leningrad just as Russia is about to enter World War II. Tatiana works in a factory and Alexander is an officer in the Red Army.

The trilogy follows them as they work to survive the war, especially the siege of Leningrad, and then building a life post-war. Throughout the series, there also quite a bit of flashbacks to what Tatiana and Alexander’s life was before the war.

I really enjoyed the first book in the trilogy. I also enjoyed the second book. I didn’t enjoy the third book as much.

In the first two books, Tatiana has an independent spirit that helps her to survive the siege and all of the obstacles thrown in her way. She repeatedly fights against the odds to protect herself and her family and move forward with her life. In the third book, Tatiana’s submission to her husband is so stereotypical 1950’s housewife that it doesn’t match the same character we’ve come to know the first two books.

Another thing to note, while Paullina does blend in a good deal of historical fiction in her stories, these books definitely belong on the trashy romance shelf and not alongside your Jeffrey Shaara novels. Some of the descriptions are very risque and detailed.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s