Book Review: Why We Run From God’s Love #emptyshelf

I saw this book posted on Day 1 of the #emptyshelf challenge, and decided to download it from Kindle and give it a try.

To be honest, I’m glad I didn’t give up on the preface. The preface is a bit full of platitudes, but once you get past the platitudes there are some good tidbits in this very quick read.

Some quotes from the book that I appreciated:

“In the midst of all of this, I read in the Bible that God loves me, and I struggle to believe it.”
This idea of God’s love, especially a parental type of love, is something that I’ve struggled with my entire life. I never experienced a good deal of parental love growing up, so it’s a bit of a foreign concept to me. I believe in a “loving” God, but a God that loves me personally is still a hard concept for me. In the e-book, Ed Cyzewski talks about a courtroom and the difference between a merciful God and a vengeful God. It didn’t completely answer my questions about God’s love, but it did give me more to think about.

“He craves the wastelands of our lives. He wants the barren places, the thorn fields, the toxic dumps, and the graves that house our darkest memories.”
This is one thing that I’ve always believed. When I was living in Maryland, shortly after leaving college, I was really struggling. I didn’t think anyone really cared if I was alive or dead. I felt the farthest away from God that I’ve ever felt. Bit by bit, I started working and rebuilding my relationship with God. I started spending more time in prayer and contemplation and hoping that God would bring me some peace.

“God wants to give you eternal life no matter where you’re starting out and no matter how many times you’ve fallen on your face.”
Amen.

Book notes: 
Title: Why We Run From God’s Love
Author: Ed Cyzewski
Length: 19 Pages
Type: Christian Self-Help

Leave a Reply

