“Knowledge is the Obstacle to Freedom”

A few months ago, I watched a documentary called The Highest Pass about a group of people who were trying to ride the Highest Pass in the Himalayas on motorcycles.

The documentary was really interesting, and one of the things that has stuck with me is something the spiritual mentor leading the journey said — “Knowledge is the obstacle to freedom”.

I’ve been thinking a lot about this lately as I work towards my goals, especially those having to do with weight loss and fitness.

When it comes to nutritional choices, I know what is good and bad. I know the amount of calories I should be eating each day to lose weight. I know the types of foods are healthy and which ones aren’t.

I know that drinking soda, especially in excess, is just pure empty calories. I know that eating fast food is not a healthy option.

I know all these things, but I have a very hard time putting them in to action.

In some ways, its the same thing with exercise. I know that keeping my body moving helps and not hurts it. I know that the more I work out, the better I feel.

Yet, I often have time feeling motivated to make any of this happen.

I’m trying really hard to get out of my own way and find a way to be successful.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

