What are my writing goals?

Over in the #my500words Facebook group, Jeff asked “If you could do anything with your writing, achieve any goal, what would it be?” 

To be honest, I haven’t thought about this question in awhile.

I’ve thought about writing in terms of how many words I want to write, but I haven’t thought about it in terms of longer goals.

I don’t have much interest in writing a book.

I’d like to get more exposure for either this blog or my other personal blog, but those are really a means to an end. Largely, I want to be out there speaking more, and I know that writing on these blogs would open up some opportunities there.

In regards to the work blog, I’d love for it to bring in more clients. It would be great if my company was seen as more of a thought leader in the nonprofit space, especially those doing unique production work.

In regards to my personal blog, one of the reasons why I write about some of the more personal things is because I hope that people will read it and feel some connection to things I’ve been through. This really falls in to two areas: others with Ehlers-Danlos syndrome and those who have gone through abuse and other childhood trauma.

Ehlers-Danlos is rare and horribly diagnosed. Most people who have it feel so isolated in what they’re going through — whether its the pain or the instability that plagues us on a daily basis. Maybe me posting about how I get through the rough days and deal with things like being in a wheelchair will help someone else.

When it comes to abuse and childhood trauma, it’s all about keeping secrets. The more light we shine on these abuses, the harder it is for abusers to hide their evil deeds.

That is a long answer to the short question of what goal am I trying to achieve with my writing.

Leave a Reply

