Should I cut my goal in half? #30days

Yesterday, as part of the #30days to hustle, Jon challenged everyone to cut their goal in half.

My goal for the #30days to hustle is to write 25,000 words in January. To keep on track with my 500,000 word goal for the year, I should actually be writing more than 25,000 words this month. If I only write 25,000 words, I’m going to be behind and not on track to get to 500,000 by the end of the year.

I believe goals should be SMART, but they should also force you to stretch.

Could I write 12,500 words instead of 25,000 – almost definitely. But, 12,500 words is only about 400 words a day and would allow me to slack off and not necessarily write every day.

Between #30days to hustle and #my500words, I’ve already written almost double what I wrote in December and we’re only 10 days into the month.

One of the other interesting discussions on the #30days to hustle facebook group is people that set up goals to do something every day — like read the scriptures, write or some other activity. It’s interesting to see the discussion about whether they should just do something every other day or somehow change up their plans.

For now, I’m going to stick with my goal of 25,000 words for the month. I feel like that’s attainable, but also a stretch.

Leave a Reply

